Completely Stolen

I confess right now that this idea is completely stolen from Theresa at Muggles Don’t Scare Me.  She has a ‘survey’ at the top of her blog at the moment!! Perhaps you all might like to answer at least some of the questions too?

1. What is your name?
Annie

2. What is your GC name?
Annie & PB

3. What kind of GPSr do you use?
Garmin Legend HCx and  Garmin Nuvi 200 series

4. What is your favorite feature on your GPSr?
That it’s pretty accurate in a range of situations.

5. What is your best memory of geocaching?
I’ve had lots of fun times geocaching – the best ones are the road trips that PB & I do. I particularly remember a day’s driving from Quinney’s Bush to Motueka, and another trip through the Waitaki Valley which I’ve blogged about previously.

6. What is the furthest from your house you’ve ever found a cache?
We’ve never travelled overseas, and have only been to New Zealand’s ‘other’ island once since we have been caching. The furthest from home cache that we got when we were up there is GCK0N8 Stepped Waters, which is near-ish to Lake Taupo. We had a bit of an adventure getting to this cache, but we eventually found it. Here is our log.

7. What is the hardest cache you ever found?
We haven’t done any REALLY hard caches – but the one I remember as the most challenging for me personally so far was a night cache GCJN2P Glow-Worms & Fireflies.  I don’t seem to have the great enthusiasm for night caches that many people do. Perhaps because I enjoy caching a lot for the scenery & history and photo-taking, and less for the actual process of hunting for a container – which is what night caching is more focused on. And I can’t see the scenery at night!!!!

8. What is the most amount of caches you’ve completed in one day?
Well, this was a discovery for me (I should read my own profile stats more often – speaking of which, I think it’s about time I updated them!!!) Here was I thinking that the most caches we had done was the road trip in the Nelson/Tasman region I mentioned in Qu 5,  but it turns out we’ve done 30 in one day on a trip between Timaru & Oamaru. And I’m really surprised I’d forgotten, as the final cache of this day was a FTF far from home!!! It was GC1HEJA Duck Up 

9. How did you get started in geocaching?
Entirely by accident!!! Our area (we now know) has one of the highest cache densities in NZ, so little did we know that all of the areas that we like to walk and to take the dogs are equipped with their own cache or two or three. So one day PB and the dogs, while doing dog & ‘boy’ stuff like poking a stick in holes at the base of trees, came across this little green plastic container.  We cautiously opened it, and thanks to the fact that Bitsprayer is such a thoughtful & experienced cache placer, we found a stash note!!!  And  the rest, as they say, is history.

10. What is the silliest mistake you’ve made while geocaching?
Well, apart for our general inability to find 1/1 caches, I can’t think of anything at the moment…….. but PB has a couple of suggestions….. which of course had nothing to do with me …. maybe …… LOL

On our North Island trip I inadvertently move the little cache icon on our GPS of the cache that we were just about to hunt. This resulted in us traipsing up and down various hill tracks with no luck what-so-ever, only to find – when we checked the co-ords in the PDA and corrected them back to what they should be – that the cache was at the top of the hill where we had parked.  All of 20 metres away from the cachemobile!! Ooophs.  Or the time early on, when we drove to a town 30 minutes away, to find that although we had the GPS, we DID NOT have the cache pages that we had printed out!!!

11. What memorable animals have you encountered on the trail?

 We don’t have any native animals in New Zealand, and we’ve yet to encounter a deer or a pig or such like in the bush, so our ‘animal’ encounters consist of meetings with birds & insects. The most astounding one we have had is on our North Island adventure. We were on the track to GC18JF5 Pumice Pit   where we were surrounded by swarming cicadas. There were so many that they were hitting us from all sides as they blundered about. The noise was also incredible, almost deafening. This continued on for quite a portion of the track and was a pretty amazing experience.

12. What is your favorite earthcache?

I am a bit of a fan of earthcaches so it is quite difficult to pick  favourite one, but I think GC1JNRT Wonderstuff’s Wonderland  has a slight edge. The thermal areas of the North Island were one of the spots that PB & I particularly enjoyed and would definitely be on our list of places to visit again. This EC and a multi in the same little thermal reserve gave us an opportunity to visit a FREE thermal reserve that we would have probably not known about otherwise – and as we could not really afford to visit the popular expensive ones, we were well pleased to be at this one.

13. When do you geocache most often? (Season? Time of day?)
We cache anywhere and anytime that we can. The weather in our local area is pretty mild (if rather damp!) all year around, so we can cache locally anytime we want. However – we’ve pretty much run out of local caches to find, so most of our caching is done on vacations which we tend to make into longish road-trip for caching purposes. So that restricts us to weekends and term breaks.

 14. Who do you usually geocache with?
PB & I always cache together. We have been caching occasionally with my sister or my brother, who do a little bit of caching, which is fun. We’ve done a couple of caches with local caching pals as well, but we’re not big on group caching.

 15. Have you ever logged a find on one of your own caches? If not, would you?
Nope – never have and never will, unless it is a cache that we’ve previously found that we adopt.

 16. What is the most consecutive days you’ve gone caching and had a find?
Apparently the answer to this is 18 consecutive days from 23/12/2007 to 9/01/2008, which was very early in our caching career when there were enough caches locally that we could get a few each evening after work.

 17. How do you feel about people who “collect” trackable items?
Very annoyed – I consider it stealing. Stealing fun from other cachers, and actually stealing from the trackables’ owner if anyone keeps TBs & coins. We’ve had a very bad time with this in our area recently, but the person responsible seems to have come to their senses and started placing the travelers out in caches again.

We have a collection of geocoins that we have either been given, or have purchased ourselves that we take to events and show to cachers that we meet on the trails. We’ve decided not to send our coins out into the world as in NZ they work out to be quite expensive and we don’t want to lose them. Plus it’s practically impossible to replace most of them. We’ve sent out quite a few TBs – some are still travelling, some got ‘lost’ right away, and we’ll send out more. 

 18. Is it all about the numbers for you?
Absolutely!!! And the places & the people & the adventure!!! LOL I do confess, we are interested in our stats, but since we reached 1500 our interest in numbers has decreased. I would rather do a handful of caches & have a fun day, than do 20 or 30 and end up tired, grumpy and annoyed with life.  I think for me the most important aspect is the places caching takes us and the time PB & I get to spend together away from our daily routine. PB is quite into ‘the hunt’  especially if it’s a devious camo, or those dastardly difficult to open constructions that some NZ hiders like to build.

 19. What have you learned since you started geocaching?
A new appreciation of just what a fantastically beautiful country I live in, and what intriguing little snippets of history can be hidden away. I’ve learnt that sometimes it takes two brains to solve a problem and that both PB & I come at caching problems (and life!) from unique but complimentary points- of-view.  I’ve got to know a much wider range of people due to geocaching than I otherwise would have – people in my town, and across NZ and across the world.  I think the ‘uniting’ factor of cachers is that they tend to have a somewhat quirky sense of humour, and are likely to be able to ‘think outside the box’ which mostly make them a very accepting and open bunch of people.

 20. What is the most interesting travel bug or geocoin you have discovered?
This is one of my favourite coins that we’ve seen: Hector’s Dolphin geocoin

And this little guy was one of my favourite Travel Bugs: Harry the Hairy Nosed Wombat

This Travel Bug we helped to reach his final destination: Berlin Travelling Bear the Second.  I got really really sick on the trip that we took this bear along on, so in the end he didn’t quite get to the cache we planned, but we put him in a cache that we had visited previously where we knew he would fit & be safe.

7 responses to “Completely Stolen

  1. Love it 😀 I did that forever ago, but people really liked it a lot when I did it so I put it in the featured section. I also have one I wrote up about my geomobile 😉 I’ll dig it out of my archives for you if you’re interested.

  2. oops I linked more than I meant to 😉

  3. Would you change any of your answers if you did it again today?? And yes on the one about your geomobile.

  4. Would love to see an updated version!
    Considering how many caches there are around our little town the thing that suprises me is it took us that long to stumble across one!!!

  5. Have had this one in the hopper for a while to post on our blog. After Chef Ducky gives her answers, we’ll post ’em.

  6. Nah 🙂 Most of my answers are still the same. Not enough of a change to re-do the whole thing! Haha. I did dig out that geomobile survey for you though! Here’s the link:
    http://mugglesdontscareme.com/2009/06/24/the-geomobile-survey/