A little cache placing.

 Despite the weatherman’s predictions, it was lovely and sunny this weekend, so garden work was first on the agenda for us.  But surely no one could be expected to use up an entire sunny day doing gardening, so later in the day we went on a little cache placing trip. 

The boys hanging out on the couch together

Darnell & Ruger

He's a bit little for me to play with, Mum?

Darnell & Neve

Firstly we rescued this cute TB Darnell the Domesticated Dingo, from one of our caches.  His owners were keen for him to continue his journey to Australia.  So he’s just visiting with us for a little bit before be drop him off close to an airport. Here he is hanging out with some new friends.

We placed a new cache End of the Road GC20J4V. When we submitted it today our reviewer Curglaff published it with about 30 mins which is always reassuring!  It’s a cemetery cache. I find cemetery caches really interesting and thought-provoking , and always such restful  & peaceful spots.  This is our third cemetery cache, and the feature here that I wanted to lead people to is a wooden ‘gravestone’  so old that any information is worn right off it. It’s surrounded by a very rustic picket fence, with long grass growing all around.  A very tranquil final resting place.

 We’ve got another cache in the works as well – PB just constructed the container for it tonight.  Just a drive-by, but hopefully it will provide a bit of a challenge, so I can’t say too much more.

5 responses to “A little cache placing.

  1. Hi Annie!

    Thought I’d track you down and see what caching was like on the other side of the world. When it dawned on me you had an avatar it had to mean you had a blog, though it wasn’t until you posted for the second time that I picked up your blog address.

    Great to see you are persevering with the blog. It does take a while to build up readers so I think you have to treat it a bit like your own personal record until people come along that you can interact with.

    In truth I’m not a serious geocacher though I do like chasing caches with a purpose be it historical, geographical etc. I tend to check up before going walking in case there’s any on my route. In fact I tend to be more heretical on the subject…but that’s because I keep coming across cachers without a sense of humour. If you check back through my geocaching posts you’ll understand why.

    I thoroughly enjoyed your first posts and from your opening one it looks like you will end up doing something like my blog with a mixture of things based on travel. I’m looking forward to dropping in in the future.

    I’ll mention your blog to an avid geocacher I know…so you might get a visit from Mandy.

    I’m off to put you on my blogroll and see if I can drum up some trade for you.

    Good luck and keep posting.

    Ken

  2. Forgot to say – many thanks for putting “Where the Fatdog Walks” on your blogroll – greatly appreciated.

  3. Thanks for your nice comment on my blog! Thanks for the add, you are on my blog roll now too! You dog is super cute! I too love cemetery caches. I always find myself wondering about the lives of those people, and how they died.

  4. Hi Ken,

    Heretical comments about caching will likely keep me reading!! PB & I are fairly avid geocachers, but I think that most Kiwi cachers are pretty laid back compared to some other areas of the world. I read the groundspeak forum sometimes and generally end up thinking that I’d like to bang a few heads together when I see the things people are arguing about.

    Our Department of Conservation land is, on the whole, protected wilderness area of various sorts. And due to the nature of most of our wildlife (lots of fairly slow moving, not that bright, highly endangered, flightless birds!), dogs are not allowed. We also have darn pesky possums imported from Australia, which DoC poison with stuff called 1080 that is also extremely toxic to dogs. So between the places that you can’t, and the places that you would not want to, take your dogs, the poor things mostly get exercised in fenced dog exercise areas.

    Thanks for your comments, and I hope that I will persevere this time!

    Annie

  5. Hi Erika,

    Yes, exactly what happens when I wander around a cemetery, especially an old one. We live in a pioneering sort of area, and I imagine there would be so many interesting, and challenging, stories to be told by the white people who first lived here.

    I will check out the blog you recommended too. I don’t have many people reading mine yet, but I’ve got a little more time to spend on it now, so I’m planning to add posts and photos more frequently which should help!

    I actually posted my first Postcrossing postcards today, and stocked up on stamps and postcards, so in future I should be able to get cards sent out more quickly. I’m still playing around with what, and how!, to add various things to this blog, but I have scanned all the cards that I sent, so I can try putting them on here too.

    Annie