No Go for No Name

Caching has been a rare event this year for one reason or another. Last weekend we got a chance to get a few local caches with some caching pals who are moving to the great Western Island soon. I only got a couple of pictures for our five caches, but this weekend we took the dog on an adventure to get a few more  caches – and pictures!

So – from last weekend:

The view from around about  GC2M165 BGSc: Block Course Which we did not attempt. I value my arms, legs, head, spine and every other bit of me too much.   Properly equipped I’ll be more than happy to take it on.

And somewhere in there is a cache of course. Cam Bash GC3084C. We found the cache eventually with a couple of ‘suggestions’ from our friend who had already done this one.  PB was the one whose eagle eye finally spied it. It wasn’t so much that it was a bush bash to get in, as there is quite a nice little geopath now once you hop over that fallen log & head a little left, but due to being totally under cover the GPS was pretty slow to respond. So we still had to look around over a fairly wide area. And we may have found a cache, but somewhere in there I lost my sweatshirt that was tied around my waist ….. or not.

Today we went to the notorious NoName Road. There are a few caches out that way that are all ‘drive-bys’ – in the Moneydork definition of a driveby.
GC2J1Q6 Kumara Crossroads    was easy enough to get to  – the ‘cobbled ‘ road made for a bumpy ride, but other than that it’s fairly accessible, and appears to have a resident weka acting as guardian.  PB made a quick find here. And then we watched the weka for a bit.

Could be a cache in there ..... or maybe a weka .....

... definitely a weka ....

After that we were going to head a bit closer to  GCR2HC No Name, but we couldn’t make it very far at all and didn’t fancy a long walk, so we might tackle that another day from another direction.

We opted to turn left instead and try for Gc2JCB1 ‘There is no shame in having NO NAME’. This was definitely a 4WD cache tackled from this direction, but would be fairly easy to get to from the Marsden  end.

Heading in to the forest

Not many places to see the views for the trees

Had to do a bit of landscaping along the way

Some pretty bits of track

Hey Dad!!!! Don't leave us behind!!

"Yep that's the cache Mum!"

Annie made the find here with Ruger to witness the log signing and PB as photographic director.

4 responses to “No Go for No Name

  1. Annie, you can’t landscape the whole forest! Awesome scenery. Great pictures!! I particularly like the one of you and Ruger :)

  2. Looks like a lot of fun!! Beauiful scenery shots.

    “I value my arms, legs, head, spine and every other bit of me too much.” hehe love that! I feel like that on some caches to. Some are just to rough and tough to attempt!

  3. Great photos. Love ‘em!

  4. That was a good read. I can never be bothered to go for more than two caches on one trip and that seems like hard work!! I love the ruger pics too, he looks so cute. Hey, I have even started me a wordpress blog – it’s come on a lot since the last time I experimented with it, so I may even keep it!!